Auto-power switch for router?

Are there any plans to develop a smart power switch so that the Maslow can turn the router off when it’s done? I want to get mine to the point it’s “fire and forget” - but I can’t as long as I have to turn the router off when it’s done.

1 Like

I would love to have this happen as well! I have a sound activated relay that I bought off ebay for $5. if the cutting program could make a beep via the headphone jack then it could basically be wired up to cut off the router. AHK.com could be used to program this easily. problem is I’m not a programmer.

another option is to have a timer switch, but this would only work if you knew how long the cut time was to take, and I dont’ think that is given is it?

1 Like

No, Bar has made the explicit decision that he does not want to control the
router power for liability reasons.

There are GPIOs available, but using them for this purpose would require changes
to the firmware, and someone would have to maintain these changes in the face of
the rapid firmware development that’s taking place.

David Lang

I understand about liability but as long as Bar is not selling a control or including a control in the kits then he would not be liable.

If Bar would allow just one control pin to be used then we could use one of these all-in- one AC/DC control relays at our own peril. (can take 3.3-60 VDC or 12-120 VAC for control signal)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-DC-control-relay-/253064590101?hash=item3aebd33315:g:6GUAAOSwawVZeLCL

or here is the direct from manufacture link

1 Like

There are six control pins! See AUX1-6 on the board. Each position has ground, a gpio pin, and 5V. It will be up to you to add something to control the pin you choose :wink:. Pro tip - if you’re using the beta version of the board, don’t use AUX5 or AUX6, as those were connected to the serial Tx and Rx lines. Voice of experience…

2 Likes