Maslow for batch semi-pro production

I have been handing making camper conversions for the past 7 years. I’ve recently had two little kids, and time is very short on my hands. I’m thinking about getting a Maslow to help speed up my production and increase my production quality.

I work with 15mm poplar ply wood for the units and 5mm for the doorcards.

I understand some people use the Maslow to create templates and then cut with a jigsaw then a copy router. Is this really faster?

I’ve read that we can expect 24-32 inches per minute… I know this isn’t super fast, but will I find this useful, or will I get frustrated and try and beat the machine each time?

How good are repetitive cuts? I understand there can be imperfections in the corners etc… but after a few trials, I could just design this into the drawings. But can I expect the same result each time?

How clean are the cuts? (assuming good bits, regularly changed). The Poplar ply I work with is pretty soft and does rip out quite easily. When i’m in a rush (often these days!) I often rip out a chunk of the last sheet of ply and have to glue it back on, or fill it… not great for quality control! I’m hoping I can get the tricky cuts done by Maslow, to solve this problem. (like the round holes for the draws, a little slip with the hole saw and its ugly as heck!)

What should I expect and not expect from Maslow?

Here are a few examples of my work so you get an idea.

Thank you all for your advise and help, I see there really is a great community here with in-depth threads. Thats a real bonus to be part of this.

4 Likes

Beautiful work.

The Maslow is great, but it’s challenges may make it frustrating in a work environment where you need to depend on it full time.