Possible Open-source Maslow Remote-view App and Computer Vision Alarm

My name is Cale, I’m a software and computer engineer, and I bought a Maslow because I need to get a better circular hand-route than I’m doing for a Greentech product and I need to be able to assemble parts for a product for a startup while the boards cut. My tolerance needs are so low that Maslow is perfect, but having to watch for the machine getting stuck sounds like a machine’s job. I’ve taken AI classes in college but am still a bit of a newb, but I’m down. I am very good with Embedded-C++1x if anyone needs assistance.

My other ideas for the app would be Cross-platform C++ core with C ABI with mobile and PC and options for SPI IO boards for Android so we can add a temperature and smoke sensor.

My other slightly unrelated question is has anyone made a sled for Maslow out of thick metal? Seems to me like the bricks don’t give even pressure. I bet it would be pretty cheap. Maybe we could make a sed with mounts for said app and alarm?

2 Likes

Welcome!
Here is a link to a metal sled (how thick?) :slight_smile: ?

Currently it is not advised to leave the Malsow alone and even professional machines have an operator with them.
I would love to see developments in temperature and current sensors!
Smoke is a little to late to react, how I see it :wink:
A collaborative effort in security would defiantly be nice.

1 Like

I built a sled with the weight evenly distributed and found that the sled would rotate until it came against one of the rotation limits, and that caused inaccuracy for some movements. Having the weight low helps keep the attachments away from the end-stops.

3 Likes

As said above: if there is smoke it is too late… Best to check temperature on the bit (but how to attach the temperature sensor? Maybe using infrared heat detector?) and/or a ‘ember’-detection (visual detection)?