FbCadCam ellipses and elliptical arcs

Hello my name is Owen Reese, author of fbcadcam (a just for the fun of it freebasic.net project)
Recently I setup a Maslow in the Philippines.
I am new to CNC (cad / cam) in general…
I am new to MaslwoCNC
My goals are to assist the kids in the philippines by way of the fbcadcam forum. https://www.fbcadcam.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=232
however I am quite happy to correspond in this forum as well but I am quite the newbie so I look forward to all your responses.

In my cad program i only afford the ability to draw lines, circles, arcs, ellipses, and elliptical arcs.
fbcadcam is a very basic cad program with no cam functionality (yet)
I hope to add cam functionality in the near future that is compatible with the maslow machine.

now regarding ellipses and elliptical arcs (and rotated ellipses and elliptical arcs):
and also circles and arcs…
what I figure is the best way to address things is to simply convert circles, arcs, ellipses and elliptical arcs to a series of lines. and thats why i’m sharing the fbcadcam forum link with ya all so you can see what i’m doing.

ps. i know it is crazy SLOW to plot a circle / arc by way of a series of lines and that i could use G2 and G3 for them, however since i would need to do this for ellipses and elliptical arcs anyway i figure might as well do it for circles and arcs to…

1 Like

here is a link to pics of us setting up our first maslow
https://www.fbcadcam.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=233

2 Likes