GC and FW development environment

What development environments are people using to work on GC and the FW? I’m new to the whole forking and pull requests and currently pretty much edit things right in github (little changes). But to do something more substantial and actually be able to test it out, I need to have the code on my computer and not just in github. So I’m looking for a decent solution to be able to do code development on my laptop, test it on the hardware, and then “push?” it up to github as a PR. I assume others are doing this already.

1 Like

I recommend GitHub desktop (https://desktop.github.com/)

It will let you download a copy of the code, create a branch to work on, and when you are ready create a pull request to merge it back in.

There is a command line version which runs much faster, and is really not that difficult to use but the GUI makes it easier to have a good sense of what is going on.

To actually edit the code you can use any text editor. I like Notepad++ :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Thats odd, no Linux versions?

@vertex check GitKraken

3 Likes

EMACS

The answer to every problem. Full disclosure, I use vi(m) and never tried to use emacs

1 Like

I use atom: https://atom.io/. It is a big boy, and will undoubtedly irritate any emacs or vi(m) users out there.

It has optional extensions that can do all sorts of stuff. It runs on every platform. It works great with git.

2 Likes

VI is for super heroes. Hollywood fails to show that. But thats probably because nobody in hollywood knows how to save and exit VI. Only a real superhero can remember stuff like that. Maybe Stan Lee should do a “Mooseman” series. :smiley:

Much respect for all the devs out there who manage to work with all those IDE’s and still can build applications that are intuitive enough to be used by non dev’s.

GitKraken looks kinda intuitive, I will have a look at that. And also Atom.io