How does sharing designs work?

I’m just getting started, and don’t really understand the process of sharing designs. On the GitHub pages people link to, there are several different file formats (.nc, .stl, .dxf, etc) What’s the difference between these? If I want to share a project with someone else, what file format do they expect me to use?

1 Like

CAD (computer aided design) software is where you draw or model your design digitally. There are ALOT of options here. Examples are: Fusion 360, AutoCAD, MaslowCreate etc. CAM (computer aided manufacturing) is software that allows you to take your digital design and generate machine code that a CNC (computer numerical control) machine can use to create your design in the real world. Lots of options here too. Examples are: Fusion360, AutoCAD, MaslowCreate, makercam, JScut. Some software have CAD and CAM integrated into one package. Here is a cool graphic on workflow from cnccookbook.com

There are so many different types of software and hardware out there; not everyone uses the same tool set, so there are different files. *.nc files are gcode and can be read by GroundControl (GC can read other gcode file extensions too); this is the output of your CAM software. *.stl files are most often used in 3D printing; it is a 3D modeling file. *.dxf is a standard drawing format that pretty much any CAD software can open; easily shared between different CAD software.

Do have any thoughts on what software you want to use? This article discusses some (probably sponsored) software you may want to consider.

2 Likes

There are three different classes of files.

1. 2D drawings (.svg, .dxf, .pdf)

Pretty much anything thats a vector based format will work. pixel based
    formats do not work well

2. 3d drawings

Here there is more variety.

result based. These hold the resulting shape, frequently as a set of
    triangles.
    .stl is a common one

parametric. These hold a series of instructions to create the shape. This