I don't use Maslow

I have a sad, embarrassing thing to admit. I haven’t made a single thing since cutting out my permanent frame. You know why? It’s not because I don’t have ideas or dreams or plans. It’s because as I watched the final frame pieces being made with the temporary sled and I became scared of the “wobble”. That is, the router tilting back and forth based on where it’s at on the plywood. I keep telling myself the temporary sled is far inferior to the final sled but I still can’t bring myself to risk ruining a piece of plywood.

Because of that I keep holding out for a nice solution to that sled wobble. @bar I’m super excited about the ring design, and I love what others are doing with laser cut arms but it seems like the whole community is still working through finding a commonly held best practices for higher accuracy.

I hate that I’m doing this, but I just cannot get past the frustration.

So I need your help. How can I contribute to the community and work to solve this “wobble” problem?

3 Likes

Great question!

I want to make sure that I better understand. “wobble” is the fact that the sled tilts to a different angle at different points on the work area so at the left side of the sheet the sled is tilted to the right and vice versa? This tilt moves the position of the router bit and can make a ‘straight’ line from one side of the sheet to the other not actually straight.

In theory this tilt is calculated by the internal math (or ‘kinematics’) and it is compensated for, however we have found that there are many variables in the equations which do this compensation so it is very difficult to calibrate. An error in any measurement can effect the straightness of a long straight cut in ways that can be hard to use to determine which variable needs to be adjusted.