JuJu's Frame with 3D printed parts and aluminium profiles

Hello Maslow community

I am new to this and I recently ordered a Makermade M2 (waiting delivery). Maslow M4 seams to be a good project, but I arrived to late for the Kickstarter. Anyway, see later how it is working.

I was thinking about the frame fabrication, but I was not very satisfied with the standard or XL frame propositions.

I need a frame which can be folded vertically on the wall to save valuable space in my garage…

Also I was not certain about the wood option, for the following reasons (I may be wrong):

• Once fabricated, it will be difficult to modify if I need to make some adjustments or changings
  • Difficulty to obtain assembly with good accuracy (within 5mm) due to wood deformation, etc. This will make the calibration operation even harder.
  • Heavy assembly, difficult to disassemble / move if needed one day

I saw the alternatives, using Unistrut or Rexroth profiles, but it is not so easy to procure for me in France at a reasonable price.

Also I wanted to take opportunity to use my 3D printer. So I was inspired by the RS-CNC32 (MakerFr), which use aluminum profile for the frame (100 x 18 mm in France, 100 x 20 mm in the rest of Europe). And I designed a frame.

The frame use the aluminum profile beams and 3D printed parts for the assembly. It is still a draft and I will need to update when I will receive the M2 (after checking dimensions, etc.).

I took care to design with 2 configurations (10 and 12 foot top beam). And with variables to allow adaptation If needed (e.g.: profile dimension 100 x 18).

Also, I kept in mind the possibility to convert/adapt the frame for the M4 in the future. See at the end a quick draft design for the M4 frame using the same assembly system and profiles. But I will not work more on this for the moment…

I am very curious to have your opinion, on my project. And I don’t know if someone already made a similar frames ? If it was a success ?