Optical Calibration Demo and Three Hours Working on a Bug

I still don’t know why it happens but I spent three hours trying to figure out why the controller kept losing usb connection when I put a serial.println statement in a particular spot in a function. I can load up tons of serial.println statements before one certain calculation, but if I put it after that calculation, usb disconnects. I gave up and decided it must be some kind of race condition unique to microcontrollers. Maybe someone smarter than me can give me a clue.

Anyway, I went back to work on optical calibration yesterday and today and have made a whole lot of progress. I would be much further along if I was a good enough programmer that I didn’t have to spend 90% of my time correcting idents, missing colons, missing semicolons, stupid copy-paste typos… sigh.

Using a turned block of wood from @marm, a usb endoscope, and three relatively cheap ARCH E sized blueprint of 1/2-inch squares spaced 3-inches apart, I’ve managed to “calibrate” my center 0,0 position so that it’s truly the middle of the board. That’s a huge step and the next step, actually having calibration points offset the target coordinates, is really, really close (I needed the three ARCH E sheets to cover the whole board). I’ve spent the last 12 hours getting to this point, so it’s time for a break.