Optical mouse as a movement sensor on the sled

Hi all, so far I was a very passive user here, reading the forums of this extraordinary community almost every day. I love that it is open source. For my maker radio show Netzbasteln (.de) I have been sourcing all the relevant parts in the last half year, iE using a self soldered shield, L298 driver modules and a welded steel frame (that can be used with plasma cutter later - we got one here already in our shared carpenter/locksmith workshops yard :). Will let you know when its about done and the radio show airs on german national public radio.

But coming to the point: as far as I remember there have been thoughts of how to detect faux / missing movements of the sled. What about adding an old optical computer mouse to the sled. So it would detect movement, at least when there are no cut-lines under the sensor and switch off the motors when the sensor data makes no sense.
I have no experiences in calibration so far, but maybe it could also help here?
Thirdly the mouse buttons could serve as some sort of hardware switches to pause the system and the wheel to adjust speed.
USB mouses should work together with ground control. PS/2 mouses have only two data pins and could even attach to the Mega.

Dont know if all this makes sense and can help something. But I wanted to share the idea.
Greetings from Berlin and thanks again for this excellent community work!
Moritz

4 Likes

That’s an interesting thought. I would think you would want two optical sensors to help a) avoid loss of data from one sensor hiccuping, b) distinguish between overall sled translation and rotation around the center (I’m assuming triangular kinematics here), and c) a little better precision. On the other hand, if you have worked with a mouse in enough places, you’ll observe that optical mice don’t always pick up well, so I would wonder how well this would work on various materials.

2 Likes

Gruesse Netzbasteln,