Preferred CAD Software (2023 Fresh Takes - vs FreeCAD)

Hi Everyone,

I decided to make a new topic since the info I’m looking for has not been easy to find or compile. Can I get honest feedback on some CAD software and/or conversions to Gcode programs please? I’m on a shoestring budget atm, so free-to-use/hobbyist is the aim, bonus points for those that have good plans or payment options for low commercial use. I am currently playing around with FreeCAD, and would say I’m a proficient noob. Since it is open-source it obviously has its pros/cons. I thought I’d list things I liked about the program as well as the not-so-fun things, and some that I’m just not sure about. This way, others could reply with their experience, provide which programs may offer a better toolset for what I need, or maybe just enlighten me on how noob I really am at FreeCAD. I have created and manipulated multiple parts/projects, but have not yet had any experience in the G-Code / toolpath/ slicing side of things.

-The Good -

From not having any familiarity with CAD software previously, I was able to replicate simple parts after following some YT tutorials and extrapolate without needing much more instruction. If I’m still stuck, so far I’ve found easy answers to operations I haven’t yet mastered.

Adding Toolbenches is a nice feature. I was able to limp through assembling parts with A2plus, mostly because it made the most sense without any previous understanding. I’m sure there are other great add-ons I need to get.

Adding construction elements, like drill holes, mounts, axle points, etc., are easy to manipulate and resize, and snap-to-elements are pretty straight forward and user friendly 90% of the time. Having ways to guarantee symmetry and dimensions with a simple alteration of data entry/constraints.