3d deep detail advice

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the CNC world, but have done lots of research. Currently prepping for my eventual purchase of an M4. My main goal with my machine is to design furniture and cabinetry, but I do also want to dive in to high depth and detailed carving for finishing and combining with epoxy pours. I wouldn’t mind some resources to play around with 3D detailing, and maybe some advice on planning out more detailed carves. I’m just gonna put my questions in-line, and thanks in advance for any input!

1. Software. I don’t mind working towards paid software, but current budgets leave me at open source. I’m not fluent in CAD programs, but am a quick study. Are there better CAD programs for designing, sizing, and drawing 3D forms? Are there other programs that work better for testing motion and joints and tolerances? Are there programs that are more user friendly for integrating or creating heightmaps for deep detailed carving, or are less of a translation headache?

2. Order of cuts. If doing a carve with lots of depth change (like a topographical mapping), do you have to plan the whole route and order of cuts? Does it make a difference working from shallow to deep sections, or vice versa? Is this a moot point because this is already addressed?

3. Levelling tricks for fine detail. When cutting large deep curve-like reliefs, does it work better to have a board or track to keep the sled level? I’m considering situations where simply putting spare board against the plywood will not be enough to keep the sled flush. I’m also assuming whatever track or boards added that increase the z-axis height will reduce the total depth cuttable on the project. IIRC, M4 can cut up to 1.9" depth, which should allow cutting right through a planed 2*4 with a very thin sheet over top of the board to keep the sled consistent