Accounting for Motor Sprocket Induced Error When Calculating Chain Lengths

Hey Everyone,

I’m new to the Maslow project, and just beginning to get my feet wet. I have been on the waitlist for a while and ordered a unit right when the project opened up a week ago, so while the next round of kits are being assembled I figured I would get familiar with the current state of the project.

As a caveat, I am completely new to this project, so am trying to provide a fresh perspective. If I’m completely off-base please let me know!

I have been reviewing the assembly instructions, looking through the software, reviewing open and closed issues, just trying to become familiar with what the focus has been in the past and where it seems to be going. One thing caught my attention during this, regarding the calculations of the chain lengths.

For the sake of simplicity I’m going to discuss the triangular kinematics here, but the same theory applies to the quadrilateral kinematics as well.

The software, specifically looking at the Kinematics.cpp, seems to be designed around the idea that the chain length is equivalent to the distance from the motor axis to the sled centerpoint. However, there are two aspects which can introduce errors into this formula.