Accuracy of Maslow compared to other CNC Machines

Hi,

I will first admit that I haven’t done an exhaustive search on this topic. I am new to CNC and looking to buy/build something in my $500-$1000 price range. I’ve looked through a number of projects that folks have created and some videos of it in operation. From what I’ve seen the Maslow is very accurate but I am curious if anyone has experience with other CNC machines that they could give me an idea of the difference in precision. I have to think that the Maslow can’t be as precise with the way it operates compared to other types of mills, but given my lack of familiarity I am completely open to feedback and guidance.

Thanks!

2 Likes

I can’t answer your question directly, but I am extraordinarily confident that this is the only solution in the $500 to $1000 that can cut from a 4x8 sheet of plywood. The question I would ask you is what are you planning on doing with the CNC? From there we can help you figure out if this suits your need or not.

Read this:

https://forums.maslowcnc.com/t/realistic-expectations-of-the-maslow-cnc/1368/4

4 Likes

A Chinese desktop cnc, work area smaller than 600mm x 400mm like mine, cuts a precision of 0.1mm after 6 years without maintenance, costs ~ $1700 without any tools, bits or clamps, so can reach $2000 easy.
A Maslow CNC bare kit with Z-axis, work area ~ 2440mm x ~1220mm is $410. Add a router, + how much you want to put into the frame, + triangular kit (recommended), + cheap bits for testing, + good bits for the artwork, to get the total. Precision near the centre, I could measure, 0.1mm.
Plenty of new calculation went into the software recently improving the top/middle and the 2 down corners.
0.5 mm over the total sheet is achievable soon, I guess. Current results depend highly on how good you get your machine dialled in.

3 Likes