Chain not extending enough after calibration

I’m a newbie here.
I mistakenly skipped a few steps in the calibration and did the chain length part first.
It ran each side out to about the middle of the frame.
I then realized that I missed the part about the distance between the motors.
Went through all the steps from scratch now three times and every time I get to the end where it should run the chains out so I can attach the sled, it doesn’t give me enough.
Left gives me about a foot and the right gives me 3-4 feet.
I see others have had similar issues, however I can’t seem to follow what the fix is.
Can someone please advise me on where I’m going wrong?

1 Like

Welcome! You will find the answer in the Calibration wiki :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for the response but I’m really not understanding this.
I went to that setting and it was set to 1650, so I changed it to 1651.
Then I went through the calibration again from the beginning.
When I get to the part where I’m asked to extend the chain, it doesn’t come out far enough.
If I hit the extend button again it only comes out a little more, then even less the third time.
Sorry if I’m missing the obvious.

1 Like

This last time I kept the chain on the left sprocket after setting the distance between the motors. It fed out more than before but still less than it does on the right side.
It’s just enough to attach the sled if I were to somehow hold it up towards the top of the frame. I was expecting it to run evenly from each side and enough so I could attach the sled from the bottom ledge of the frame.
Should I attach it at this point? Off center and towards the top?
Thanks for the help!

I think that is the correct move. If I remember correctly the sled will move to the center after this step.

1 Like

I missed that part earlier. That is strange. Some questions:

1. Please provide details about your machine like: where you got your kit, frame type, any customizations?