CNC Milling a ShopBot XYZ Finder via Xometry Service - Review

In addition to the 3D SLS power tool battery adapter printing project I’m running with Xometry, I was so impressed with how easy it was, I dove headlong in to trying them out for CNC milling.

This is all just a little pet project for me, out of my own pocket, to learn about on-demand manufacturing capabilities - so I wanted to share the results with the group as you’ve all been inspiring. I’m not an engineer by trade, nor am I formally trained in CAD/CAM, just self taught this year. I have some business experience overseeing product production and higher level supply chain management and decision making - although it’s relevance to one-off personal projects is minimal. :slight_smile:

Until I had run that first SLS print job on Xometry and started poking around, I hadn’t realized they offers CNC milling services. They also seem to offer some sheet metal bending, although it’s all “custom quoted” instead of the neat web “instant quote” for everything else. When I saw they could do T6061 aircraft aluminum, I instantly remembered a project I saw on YouTube where someone made a 3D zeroing block for the ShopBot for their local Maker space. Wheels started turning.

If you use this link to sign-up with Xometry you’ll get a $50 credit towards your first project, which is more than enough to do some nice little shop projects. I’m thinking of making some custom squares and marking rules next, maybe a fence for my Festool-style worktop.

Since I only have access to the ShopBot at my Maker space for short periods of time (3h windows for members), and I have created jobs that required stopping, removing my work piece and coming back a week later to continue, being able to very precisely re-zero the machine to the same point is critical.

I found Ron Olson via YouTube and the video and link to the code of his project to set X/Y/Z to Zero on a ShopBot PRS-Alpha (same machine as I have access to):