Hello from New Zealand

Hi, i’m fairly new to CNC but it’s something I have been interested in for a while.
I have a little experience with laser-cutters but I want to have my own machine to make stuff, ideally furniture, as there’s no Ikea in my country which makes kitting out a house pretty pricey.

I have a reasonable amount of experience in digital cartography so if you have any projects involving maps I would be more than happy to help out acquiring data, sorting out vector line tracing and map projection issues.

Unfortunately I’m probably not going to be able to buy a kit in the next batch… any idea how long a break the team are taking? Is it worth holding off for a 6-12 months to see what improvements are planned. Shipping out this far is really pricey, so if there is a major change to the design (for example, the ring kit) I would probably need to fabricate my own version.

I’m looking forward to joining the community and becoming a proper maker.

5 Likes

Hello and welcome, there are allready several Maslows in New Zealand. Maybe no acces to Ikea is the reason for them as well, maybe you could start an Ikiwi store with maslows running the production. :slight_smile:

Unless i’m mistaken, you can still buy one in this batch if you’re fast. I don’t think they have an idea of what to do after the break, but even if they would decide that they want to start again imediately, the lead time on the motors is around 3 months i believe, so i’m not expecting the next batch for at least another 6 months (i’m just a community member, got no inside info, just a calculated guess)

I payed $70 shipping, and another €118 import tax to Belgium. Still for a cnc that cuts full sheets if you add it up it is still a fraction of the competition.

Stay here and that will happen wether you want to or not :smiley:

1 Like

I was mostly meaning if they brought out another upgrade… $70 shipping for the kit is an absolute bargain