Community Garden Brainstorming

Since my Maslow is mostly built, I have been struggling through the CAD/CAM software game. While I am an engineer, it has been a while since I’ve used any of this software. I am rusty. Nonetheless, through my struggles, I installed FreeCAD as one option, and began looking through documentation, tutorials, and how-to’s. During my course of learning, I realized many of the features of FreeCAD are designed for scalability; something that is very close to what I am currently working on in my job. In all this, I realized how we are much more powerful as a group than as a group of individuals. I thought: if we could use the software in a way that leverages this, we would be much more powerful.

This is stream of consciousnesses, so it might not be entirely clear.

One example, FreeCAD (and maybe other CAD options) supports the use of bodies referenced into parts. This means that one part can be created, and referenced multiple times within an assembly. Further, assemblies of parts can be referenced into other part assemblies. An assembly is created once, and referenced multiple times into a super-assembly (a bigger or more complex widget). FreeCAD documentation discusses this in more detail, but this plays directly into concepts of change management (how changes to parts translate to changes in complex widgets). This concept is extremely powerful in terms of how sustainable and maintainable a complex widget is.