Complete Newbie NEEDS HELP!

Hey all,

complete CNC newbie here

Maslow CNC will be my 1st ever go at anything CNC

cashing in my Maslow CNC reserve, 12/1/2017 for 2/2018 delivery (assuming there are no issues)

Although I “believe” I know my way around a CPU…I have not a single clue of what all I need to get my Maslow up and cutting (i.e. NO IDEA @ ALL, I don’t know what software requirements nor how to use said software(s).) I’m desperately trying to start a at home woodworking/maker business and I intend on making my Maslow a crucial component of my future business.

any/all help and/or information is GREATLY appreciated!

from the very limited exposure I have of the Maslow community and Hannah & Bar I feel like its a big happy family and I’m hoping to not only gain vast knowledge but, to also earn my own spot in the family!

Again thank you all for your future time & consideration,
~Bill T.

4 Likes

Welcome to the Maslow family.
Basicly any pc or laptop with a USB port running either Windows, Mac or Linux will do.
Android is not supported at the moment, but a tablet that is not Android will also run the Maslow.
You want to update the Firmware and GroundControl weekly, so either you have internet in the workshop, or use something easy to carry around. Unless you take the newest software by pen-drive to your machine.
A good place to start is the Wiki: Home · MaslowCNC/GroundControl Wiki · GitHub
As for software, you need Arduino IDE or an alternative to upload the Firmware to the ArduinoMega. On your OS you need Python 2.7x and Kivy. The Wiki explains how to install those.

Be aware that the Maslow is not designed for mass production, due to its low speed. If your focus is more on custom designs, unique furniture or art, then that still could work out.

5 Likes

@WTHURLBYJR

Welcome abord!

What router are you planing on using?

You might want to look at this -

Thank you

3 Likes