Ground Control on Chromebook using CrossOver

I am looking for an inexpensive alternative to running Ground Control. Currently I have a RasPi 3 running UBUNTU Mate, which runs fine, until I open Ground Control. Then it becomes really clunky. It works, but it is not user friendly in any way. If someone knows a fix for this, that would be awesome. If not, no big deal. Otherwise, I’m guessing (because I’m just an amateur) that the Pi doesn’t have the processing power or RAM to keep up with running the OS and the program at the same time.

I literally don’t need the computer to do anything but run Ground Control, so I was curious if anyone had any experience running it on a Chrombook via CrossOver. Or if anyone has put UBUNTU on a Chromebook and tried running it that way. Thanks for any and all suggestions.

@MrAkrophobic The RPi 3 processor is not the problem, its the GPU. If you enable the experimental GL drivers it runs silky smooth, but you lose stability. The other options are to use it with touch screen or remote desktop.

I did my initial calibration and cutting on the RPi 3, but have moved to using a chromebook as follows:

Chrome OS in developer mode running crouton virtual environment (Ubuntu 16.04) .Currently working on Neverware converted Dell e6410 with 4 Gb of ram.

Note: Im running on an x86_64 CPU, others have tried ARM chromebooks and reported Kivy libraries are not upto date. If its an ARM book you might need to compile Kivy from source.

1 Like

Ok, thanks so much for the info! The chrome book for sale didn’t have any specs listed, but I’ll keep my eye out for the differences. And as for your chrome os, had you ever tried using CrossOver?

I just ran the v1.18 release of GroundControl-Windows.Portable using the macOS version of Crossover 17.5.1 :+1:. I’m not presently set up to try the Linux version of Crossover though…

Awesome man thanks for the info. It brings me hope.