Ground Control on Raspberry Pi 3 with Raspbian Stretch Desktop

This is from Raspbian stretch desktop (Python 2 IDLE) on RPi3… not even sure if this is possible to do from the desktop. Im a newb to Raspberry and Linux and need some help, please.

Python 2.7.13 (default, Jan 19 2017, 14:48:08)
[GCC 6.3.0 20170124] on linux2
Type “copyright”, “credits” or “license()” for more information.
=============== RESTART: /home/pi/GroundControl-master/main.py ===============
[INFO ] [Logger ] Record log in /home/pi/.kivy/logs/kivy_17-10-05_3.txt
[INFO ] [Kivy ] v1.9.1
[INFO ] [Python ] v2.7.13 (default, Jan 19 2017, 14:48:08)
[GCC 6.3.0 20170124]
[INFO ] [Factory ] 179 symbols loaded
[INFO ] [Image ] Providers: img_tex, img_dds, img_gif, img_sdl2, img_pil (img_ffpyplayer ignored)
[INFO ] [OSC ] using for socket
[INFO ] [Window ] Provider: sdl2([‘window_egl_rpi’] ignored)
[INFO ] [GL ] OpenGL version <3.0 Mesa 13.0.6>
[INFO ] [GL ] OpenGL vendor <VMware, Inc.>
[INFO ] [GL ] OpenGL renderer <Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.9, 128 bits)>
[INFO ] [GL ] OpenGL parsed version: 3, 0
[INFO ] [GL ] Shading version <1.30>
[INFO ] [GL ] Texture max size <8192>
[INFO ] [GL ] Texture max units <32>
[INFO ] [Window ] auto add sdl2 input provider
[INFO ] [Window ] virtual keyboard not allowed, single mode, not docked
[INFO ] [Text ] Provider: sdl2

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/pi/GroundControl-master/main.py”, line 40, in
from Connection.nonVisibleWidgets import NonVisibleWidgets
File “/home/pi/GroundControl-master/Connection/nonVisibleWidgets.py”, line 2, in
from Connection.serialPort import SerialPort
File “/home/pi/GroundControl-master/Connection/serialPort.py”, line 36
SyntaxError: Non-ASCII character ‘\xe2’ in file /home/pi/GroundControl-master/Connection/serialPort.py on line 36, but no encoding declared; see http://python.org/dev/peps/pep-0263/ for details

This is the initial screenshot after running

1 Like

If it helps to clarify, lines 35 and 36 are