How do you generate your Gcode?

Hey All,

I am very new to this, I have everything setup and have my final sled cut.

Now to cut my own stuff…

I have a simple file that I want to cut out for testing and I am having a hard time getting the step downs into the G-Code.

I started with Easel, have all the tooling paths and steps configured. But Easel doesn’t spit out the Gcode for me, just a svg.

So I load the svg into Inkscape, use the extension to create the Gcode, but no steps are there.
Do I need to make a Gcode file for each depth?

Is there a tutorial out there for gcode creation using the free tools that I have not been able to find?
I want to be able to specify my paths and step downs for multiple components. For example, I want to fully cut out one component all depths, before moving to the next one.

Tab creation would be nice too.

Hopefully I just missed a simple step. Thanks in advance for your help.

PS. Do you all work in mm or inches? is one easier in general in terms of programming?

-Chris

When you have your design done in Easel, click the Machine menu on top, then select advanced. You should see this menu where you can generate g code for other machines.

There are simpler tools than FreeCAD, but I use FreeCAD because I want the unlimited and versatile free open source CAD/CAM tool that exports directly to grbl and maslowCNC with lots of improvements continuously coming in.

So here is a SVG quick overview.

And here is a more advanced one.

Finally, I recommend reading Sliptonic’s tutorials about Path workbench.

1 Like