How to Find and Distill Community Knowledge

I’m new to open source and community projects like Maslow. There is so much great information in these forums that it is a bit overwhelming. I enjoy spending time reading through threads to answer questions that I have. I don’t want to reinvent the wheel and it isn’t practical to read every relevant thread, which may have 100s of comments.

Is there a way for the community to vote on, or capture the latest/greatest designs and best practices? For example, sled/linkage design. There has been trial/learning among the community since this thing started and I’m not sure which design is the “best”.

I would appreciate any insight or thoughts on this.

Thanks!
Jesse

1 Like

Well, @jwolter can help with the voting part :slight_smile:

The wiki (and the forum wiki) can be used for “best practices” and such. I try to curate the forum wiki and if someone has good information, I’d be happy to help make it into a wiki post.

3 Likes

there are 3 linkage designs 1. top mount, 2 45 degree linkage and 3 ring
the ring design isn’t made anymore and it’s not economical to get one laser cut so that leaves the two pantograph linkage kits.

they are both fairly easy to make but the 45 degree one is especially easy and more tolerant of slight measuring mistakes. you take 8 metal bars and make a hole on each end 9" apart, then you use spacers/washers and bolts to connect to the sled. The most important thing is that all 8 bars are the same distance apart, so it’s not that they have to be 9" apart, they could all be 9.25" apart, as long as it is the same.

1 Like

Other desireable features when designing a sled:

1. An 18" diameter (approximately, some have 16" for example) sled so that it “bridges” any pockets you have cut.
  2. A surface that glides smoothly over the work piece. Lots of people are using plastics, like HDPE for that. Others are using polished wood.