Inset Board placement for small pieces and carves

I am very new to the machine. If it helps I built the newest frame… At least it’s the one on top of the frame assembly page with the motors and chains spanning the top beam.

Wondering if anyone else has thought about creating a removable panel in the sacrificial plywood backing that could be removed and inserted with different sized templates/supports directly in the home position of the machine to cut out smaller pieces such as hardwoods plastics… .
The way I see it in the middle section of the sacrificial plywood could be cut out mostly with the machine and even using it to insert dowel points so it can be returned in exactly the same spot every time.

Not completely sure if this is possible but that could allow us to cut into things That are much smaller, directly in the most accurate position on the machine, while saving lots of woodfrom being wasted.

The dowel points in the two by fours behind the machine would be good places we could use the Maslow to cut out supports to for different depths of material that would then become flush with the sacrificial plywood backer and sure we would be stuck with a finite amount of smaller pieces… only limited by the amount of templates we would make… but we would never have to worry about cutting on material that is also big enough that the sled wouldn’t fall off of.

I hope my stream of consciousness talk to text post makes sense.

4 Likes

It’s totally possible. I would say that if your use case calls for using small pieces often, then setting up a template jig like that would be ideal. I think for a lot of us, myself included, the size of the projects is likely to vary, and thus just fixing the work piece to the spoil board is the easiest way to go, but there is certainly no reason not to do it the way you suggested.