Maslow Firmware not uploading -using arduinoIDE- Need help fast!

Hi I am new to Maslow and I’m having a little trouble with uploading the firmware onto the Arduino. I do as the instructions say and press upload and this message comes up,

Arduino: 1.8.5 (Windows 7), Board: “Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)”

Sketch uses 54662 bytes (21%) of program storage space. Maximum is 253952 bytes.
Global variables use 1887 bytes (23%) of dynamic memory, leaving 6305 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 8192 bytes.
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
An error occurred while uploading the sketch

This report would have more information with
“Show verbose output during compilation”
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

Please let me know how to fix it! Thanks.

That error means that the Arduino program can’t connect to the board.

Is Ground Control open?

Were you able to select the correct COM port?

In assembly guide ground control is the next step after firmware is uploaded

Sorry I should have been more clear. If Ground Control is open it can prevent the firmware from uploading correctly.

Can you tell me more about what is going on? Is this the first time you are uploading the firmware or have you don’t it before in the past?

What kind of computer are you using?

Does the green “USB” connected light show up on the Maslow board? Does the 12 volt light show up?

using a windows 7
usb light lights up
first time uploading and I am doing everything exactly as the instructions say step by step.
I really don’t know what else to do

Are you positive that the COM port selected is for the Arduino (if you unplug the USB does the option go away)?

Is the 12 volt power supply connected? It might be worth disconnecting it for this step just to eliminate variables.

There is only the option which is com1
is there a specific place to plug it in?