Recommended router BIT for cutting 18mm MDF for 1/4" and 3/8" shank router

Hi I am looking for Recommended router BITs for cutting 18mm MDF for 1/4" and 3/8" shank router. I am not doing find detail work, so looking for best cut rate etc.

What do I go with - straight, upward cut, downward cut - how many spirals? etc

My apologies I am new to this and still trying to learn the strange lingo you guys speak in LOL

Thanks in anticipation

For my machine, I use this 1/4" bit as my work-horse. Iā€™ve found I can go 600 mm/min at 16,000 rpm and get pretty reliable cuts. Itā€™s a single flute upcut bit.

There is a lot of science that goes into tooling geometry, but Iā€™ll do my best to describe them in a manner thatā€™s easy to understand.

As far as what all effect all this terminology has, the spiral direction (upcut, downcut, straight) effects the edge finish. An upcut bit will leave a clean edge on the bottom, but a hairy one on the top. A downcut bit will leave a hairy edge on the bottom and a clean one on top. A straight cut leaves a hairy edge on both sides.

The flute count mostly effects your feed rate. The more flutes, the more material a tool can remove in one rotation. As a result, a 2 flute bit will typically run twice as fast as a single flute one will. This is especially useful on machines that have faster max travel speeds. On the Maslow, weā€™re capped to 800mm/min because of the hardware, so I have found that I canā€™t run 2 flutes without on my machine without rubbing/burning the bit.

2 Likes

expanding on this.

The professionals talk about ā€˜chip loadā€™ for various materials and bits, how
much material gets cut off the workpiece by each flute. (the other factor is
surface speed that Iā€™ll talk about below)

If the chip load is too high, the cut quality is horrible and or something fails
(the bit breaks, on the maslow the chains go slack and the sled isnā€™t were you
want it to be, etc)