Strange error mid-cut

Hi. Thanks for your help. I am new to the Maslow scene, and have spent a number of days getting everything prepped for my first project. Things were going great when about 1 hour in to a sign design, the cut decided to erratically change direction. I was watching on the screen as the Black location indicator and red location indicators went out of alignment and decided to go in different directions.

Here was the result. Any ideas? The machine worked so well with incredible accuracy unattended for a couple hours. I happened to be watching it when the error occurred. It didn’t lose precision. Just went the wrong direction.

Thanks so much for your help.

3 Likes

That sounds like it might be a bug on our end with the way the machine is interpenetrating the gcode.

Would you be willing share the file that was running?

1 Like

Welcome,
The log.txt from the Ground Control folder could also help finding a clue, but I guess you are restricted as a new user to post a link or upload files. A few likes and comments will get you over that.

2 Likes

Here is where the file cut out. I’ll try to upload or link the file itself below.

2 Likes

Here is the gcode file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/sceu8ej6oitf0ac/combo2.nc?dl=0

2 Likes

Did you stop the cut when it went off course, or did you let it go and find that it eventually got back on course? I only ask because I am wondering if there was some z-move that was missed in the g-code sent to the motor controller.

I thought the same, but waited long enough to determine to my best knowledge that this hadn’t happened.

What was particularly strange was that the black target (I’m guessing position in g-code) and red target (estimated position of cutting head) were going in different directions on my computer screen. Nearly perpendicular. I let it go fro about 60 seconds before stopping.