Tutorial Suggestions

Hello all,

I am totally new to FreeCad and will be running it on Linux Mint. I am hoping that there are some experienced FreeCad users who can recommend some good tutorials that can cut down the learning curve. Also point out any features, issues to beware of relative Maslow.

Thanks in Advance!

3 Likes

I can’t say I have seen a systematic set of tutorials for FreeCAD, although I have found that most program features can be found as a video on YouTube or elsewhere. I have had very good luck with the FreeCAD forums. A few things that can cause confusion:

1. Even though it has been around awhile, there are still features that have not been implemented yet. It is definitely a work in progress.
  2. There are many workbenches, so even if you are pretty sure a feature exists, you may have trouble finding it. Again, videos are your friend here.
  3. Documentation of the API is also pretty spotty. Some of it is good, some pretty terse, some just doesn’t seem to exist.
    Alas, I have not yet used FreeCAD to design for the Maslow, since we haven’t put together our kit yet.
1 Like

Yes, there are som tutorials that can be found on youtube. Like this one

For the CAM part there is

And you can always check stuff in the manual
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Manual:Introduction

2 Likes

Thanks @Jakob_Lundberg,

I have been watching your tutorial suggestions and the CAM series which covers the Path Workbench is very interesting. I have not found any tutorials that deal specifically with the Maslow though. In regards to the Path Work Bench does anyone use it and if so I would love to hear about your experience. Are you using a Setup Sheet, Job Templates and which Post Processor are you using? You can modify the existing post processors, has anyone created a Maslow one? I will be looking into these myself soon.

I haven’t gotten my Maslow yet, so I can’t say anything about that.