Updates for 2022

Hi. I was wondering if there were any planned updates for WebControl? I am a retired user interface designer, and would not mind adding my expertise to the project in the form of a cold eyes review. I don’t have the coding skills to do the work, but three decades in the field brings plenty of good ideas. Anyway…just if there is need. JEH

3 Likes

I have been noodling on webcontrol to put in some additions I added on my Maslow, but they are most (but not all) raspberry pi specific. I could use another set of eyes to verify functionality and suggest changes to documentation if you want to look it over. My web coding skills are limited, but I can usually make stuff work. I think the documentation for calibration could use a revamp as well.

I’m still a novice and I’m quite impressed with webcontrol. So far I can’t really think of much improvement. I’ll throw some ideas into the mix, they may be stupid or not practical since I no nothing about coding. So here are my newbie inputs:

1. Is there a way to program in a better way to recover from a com loss?

2. Is there a way to add in gcodeclean as a function? I’m thinking load gcode, then go to gcodeclean menu and pick how you want it cleaned/modified. Or at least add in zclamp?

3. Maybe a few more macro buttons?

4. Maybe a button that cycles through tool change commands (even if maslow doesn’t recognize them maybe a manual cycle to add in router stops)?

5. A ruler tool.

I’m going to add on that I’m impressed with you guys keeping this project going!

-Tim

1 Like

I’m still a novice and I’m quite impressed with webcontrol. So far I can’t really think of much improvement. I’ll throw some ideas into the mix, they may be stupid or not practical since I no nothing about coding. So here are my newbie inputs:

1. Is there a way to program in a better way to recover from a com loss?

unfortunantly you have no way of knowing exactly what gcode lines have been