What are the steps from design to cut?

Hello all

I am a novice to cnc and design. I do not have clear understanding of what software’s are required and for what purpose. i see inkscape, Fusion360, opendesk etc mentioned.
I am trying to understand what is the work flow most people use, e.g., design in software A, then export to software B then …

I am having difficulty wrapping my head around the process from design to cut.

thanks
-d

You are not alone! Maslow uses the industry standard file types and protocols so there are literally thousands of programs you can use. We made videos about some common ones to help you understand what the process is like:

1 Like

short version:

design = create your objects in CAD

CAM = convert your CAD design to GCODE (Computer Aided Machining). This is where
you decide how the part will be cut.

cut = load your GCODE into ground control and go

now, as always, the devil is in the details.

some people do a 2d design in inkscape, the load the resulting .svg into
makercam (a web based cam software) and then load the resulting g-code into
groundcontrol

some people use fusion360 to make a 3d design, and then use the CAM built in to
fusion 360 to create the gcode

some people design in one program, convert that program to svg, load the result
into makercam

etc

first, find a CAD program you are comfortable in, then look to see what options
you have to go from there to the CAM step

1 Like

thank you guys this was really helpful.

I will be using Inkscape to do the design work.
i will be designing arabic designs similar to pattern in link.
These will be size of window frames.
material will be ply wood.

Since it is all 2D I can go from Inkscape --svg–> makercam —g-code-- > ground control —> run

another question
Will Maslow CNC will be able to cut out the white areas?

thanks

assuming you have a small enough bit, I would expect it to (remember, bits are round, they can’t cut sharp corners)