Aluminum Generator Panel

So I got my first payed job with the Maslow. My brother and I are rebuilding a generator back panel that got smashed by a negligent driver. I was tasked with making the cut-outs in the 0.040" aluminum sheets, which meant I got to try my hand at machining aluminum on a router. I’m rather pleased with the results:

Still needs a little work to finish it up. We already took the edges to a break to make flanges and roll the corners. The cut-outs are for a control panel and access panels.

While I’ve done aluminum machining on Bridgeports and CNC mills, I’ve never done it on a router before. It took quite a bit of trial and error to get it to machine. I had read somewhere that smaller bits meant the spindle had to work less, so I initially tried using 1/8" bits. After breaking 4 of them with various settings I switched it out for a 1/4" two flute upshear. This cut through the material no problem, and since it’s only 0.040" I was able to go through the sheet in one pass. At 400 mm/min it was quite noisy, however, and I will need to try to optimize the feeds a little better. I only have the 1 bit that’s 2 flute upcut so I played it quite conservatively as to not break the bit. According to my math, 2000 mm/min is around the right speed for this process. I might be able to bump my speed up to the max 1000 mm/min and get half-way decent results. Otherwise, I will have to try single flute bits like I have on plywood.

Also, my tiny little bucket head shop vac did not have the gumption to suck all those little chips. They collected up on the inside of the router base, too. They seem to be too heavy to get pulled by the vacuum. I made quite a mess! :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: I’m going to need to figure out a better dust collection system moving forward. I know the little guy is far from ideal. I have thoughts about building something akin to what Matthias Wandel made on his Youtube channel.

8 Likes

That’s awesome!