Can I build a smaller frame to fit my planned applications?

So I just got my Maslow a couple of days ago, and surprise, surprise, I’ve got some questions. First, if I build everything to Maslow’s specs, do I have to use a full 4’X8’ sheet of material, or can I use smaller dimensions? And second, I’m planning on doing nothing bigger than 2’X4’ projects. Can I make a frame to fit that application, or is it going to cause more troubles than I want want to get into? Keeping in mind I am a newbie and know next to nothing about running this unit.

yes and yes, there are other topics talking about building small frames, read through them and ask questions about what you don’t understand

Will do. Thanks for the input.

this is best thread on smaller frame IMHO.

So if I understand that thread correctly he built the standard frame accept in 4x4 size and then left the top beam the standard 10’ Length?

Makes since because with the top beam being the same length it wouldn’t effect the calibration and with the standard beam I could still cut a 4x8 sheet if I really needed too.

To your knowledge, does anything else have to be different in order to achieve the 4x4 frame?

Awesome News! I still have my large frame at my other property that I can take apart to be repurposed for this 4x4 frame.

thanks very much.

yes, you can leave the top beam at 10’ and just cut in a 4x4 section, you can
also shorten the top beam to 8’ or so and get really good results for a 4x4 area
(but at the cost of not being able to do an 8’ long area, you should be ble to
do 6’)

the calibration is sensitive enough that even an inch or so difference will need
a very different calibration, so the calibration will be needed for the new
machine no matter what.

David Lang