Maslow Home Maslow Community Garden Newsletter

Going Cra-Z - Z-axis changes

Issue: The actual z-depth of the router and what GroundControl thinks it is, keeps getting out of sync.

I’m new to Maslow, bought from East Bay, sled from MakerMade. I have the basic kit with the Z-Axis motor. I have spent several days and several sheets of plywood to cut one 8"x12" piece. I’ve read the forums and I’ve got a bungee cord and all the other chewing gum solutions. It’s not slipping. The motor isn’t jammed. If I tell it to move it moves. The code is right. If the code tells it to move, it moves. I’ve even set it at 1mm pass with 9mm depth and speed of 200 to avoid “confusing” it or putting “strain” on it - no help. And the bit hasn’t slipped. At different points and different places it the cut plan it just simply gets out of sync with the physical depth and what GroundControl believes it is. I’ve even been watching it and double checked the code, which was right. It’s like it’s randomly skipping a depth change, but then it must be losing accuracy of Z-Zero because it doesn’t correct itself with the next cut instruction with Z-depth. Same gcode, it’s happened shortly after starting, and once at 98% complete. Issues have included

• cutting at “-3mm” while floating above the board
  • being at “-3” and thinking it’s at 5mm (and slicing my work in half while traversing a travel path)
  • going into a traverse path and not reaching full travel height until part way along the path (so made a slopped receding cut as it traveled and rose)