Hardware pendant Start/Stop button / joystick options?

So I’m still really new to this and I’ve searched the forum, but I didn’t see anything about a physical start or stop button other than the STOP NOW discussion. I have been using layered Gcode files, but I found that the home position between them changed a bit, so I had to start the job and hurry and stop the job and reset, so each time I would run to the laptop to stop the job. In ground control, there is a start / stop, but to use it I need to carry my laptop around all the time, so lifting the sled to save the work piece, shutting off the router, then running to the laptop to stop it is the most clumsy arrangement. Plus my space is a bit tight. I wired in my own E-stops and included some romex to home light switches for ease in controlling things on the maslow.

The steppers are the switch on the left, the router is on the right. I don’t have a high enough amperage rating e-stop to run the vacuum off of it as well, which would be in the middle until the contactor arrives. I had planned to plug in the raspberry pi on the same connection with the Arduino, so an E-stop will kill it all as will the power switch,

I’m wondering why we couldn’t have physical buttons on the system like a green START and a red STOP button similar to the pendant idea. With the understanding that the Arduino has only 2 or 3 inputs left and that scanning them for direct input would be a taxing issue on it makes sense, so anything to do this would most likely be connected to a groundcontrol (laptop) input or a webcontrol (web based laptop or raspberry pi web or gpio or USB) input.

My (somewhat incompletely considered) ideas: