Index.html.gz source

So I finally started looking at the source code of the webUI with the goal of implementing some of the quality of life features ( adding a bounding box / printing the max X and Y dimensions of the gcode, adding a command to jog the router to the extremeties to validate that the work piece is positioned correctly, etc.

However, I found the monstrosity called index.html : FluidNC/FluidNC/index.html at Maslow-Main · BarbourSmith/FluidNC · GitHub

As a software engineer, I fully understand feature creep. However, this feels completely unsupportable in the current state.

Is the main concern the total size it takes?
if so, I would recommend to split out the javascript to proper .js files (so each is nicely formatted and maintainable), and when creating index.html.gz, you can first run it through a javascript
minifier, and then just take the output and append to index.html before compressing it.

Are there any other considerations I should keep in mind before I attempt to set this up? Or would this work?

1 Like

So that index.html in the fluidnc project is actually a “fallback” ui. The one you want is in GitHub - BarbourSmith/ESP3D-WEBUI: A Web UI for ESP8266 or ESP32 based boards connected to 3D printers / CNC which has a build process that produces an index.html.gz to use for uploading.

Also, yea, its a constrained environment and also not what I’m used to (plain html/js only, simple bootstrap styles, a bunch more constraints). Feel free to reach out for pointers.

• to build it, gulp package -en - output in dist
  • to run it without uploading, get python installed (probably a couple pip installs I forget) then run python fluidnc-web-sim.py maslow.local and point a browser to localhost:8080 (or whichever port it reports.

no hot-reload or any modern convenience for front end development :slight_smile:
, just repeat above to test changes.

2 Likes