Issues Getting Started

So I am new to CNC and purchased the Maslow for some projects coming up. Ran into issues with motor slop and chain tension/falling off sprocket. But I have fixed all those issues and painstakingly calibrated! Many times! So here is where I am now… I feel the machine is calibrated well. However I think I am having a file issue. I’m using Easel to create the code. And everything on the first pass looks good. Strait lines and curves are fine. But once the machine plunges for the 2nd pass 2 things happen. 1. The Z axis goes too deep. 2. The 2nd pass is skewed from the 1st. If I let it go for the 3rd it will plunge and skew more. Now the fact that the first cut looks good makes me think its calibrated decent. And the path looks good in ground control. Any tips of how to hone this in?

What z-axis are you using?
What happens when you run gcode that only has a single pass with one depth a second time? Will it follow the first pass?
Could be that you have gcode issues, could be that you have machine issues.
The questions to both questions may help.
If can send a picture that could also help.

I am using the z-axis from the basic kit. I haven’t tried running a shallow cut twice. But I can try that today and see what happens. While digging in the forum I saw a post about noise from the power cord on the router. And I do have mine bundled. So I will try separating that as well.

You might want to try a test with something other than easel. In a support group for another router we’re seeing a lot of reports about easel toolpath shifts. This would let you tell if it’s another easel issue or something else.

I prefer Carbide Create (just added support not Maslow size workpiece grids) these days but it requires installation. Kiri: Moto might be a good online tool for a quick test