Making the sled into a router table

I was thinking about building a router table the other day, and while drawing it out, it came to mind that it looked an awfull lot like the sled i’m designing.
So i was thinking i could put an arduino, some shield, a small lcd screen and a small keypad in a table with a maslow sled sized hole so that when i’m not using the maslow i can just pop the sled into the table and have an electronically controlled router table.
Now the question is, how is the z-axis controlled? What would i need to control the z-axis on it’s own without the rest of the maslow connected?
I have some experience in arduino programming and have been looking for a reason to pick it up again, and this looks like a nice project for cold winter nights.

3 Likes

Interesting idea. I assume you are thinking of disconnecting the zaxis motor from the cable and plugging it in to this “router table arduino?” If you already have some arduino experience, I would say it is totally doable. Just copy the necessary aspects from the Firmware. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work.

Be aware you would lose your zaxis position and would need to re-zero after doing this.

3 Likes

you need to re-zero frequently anyway

I had the same thoughts, horizontal and vertical table option.
And why not make it as alternative to a tablesaw / mitersaw? :smiley:

The ultimate flexible workhorse…

1 Like

You could set up the Table Arduino to record it’s starting point, zero - work - return to original position after use.

Thank you

I think they call it ShopSmith. If only we could make the Maslow an attachment to it. . .

Thank you

2 Likes

This actually would make sense…
What about using a dedicated arduino nano on the z-axis and let Maslow firmware send z depth values to it and make it possible to run stand alone as router table depth control with a simple display that shows the depth in mm and rotary encoder to manually set the value.