Maslow API/Spec

Just an idea, but I wonder what it would take to make an API for communicating with the Maslow so developers could create alternative clients, etc.

I’m a developer, but I’m not too familiar with python or kivy. I may look further into this, but a spec would speed things up. What is sent to the Arduino over the serial port. An object? An array?

Let me know what you guys think

1 Like

There is an API, it’s g-code (and a few other codes) via the serial port.

There’s even work being done to fix problems with another client talking to it.

Ground Control is the client to be replaced. Right now it’s needed to do the
initial calibration, but should not be needed for anything else.

1 Like

Well, yeah. It’s pretty obvious that gcode is sent over the serial port, but as what data structure? The firmware is expecting the gcode to be formatted a certain way, and in a certain order.

As I’ve said before, I’m no python developer, but skimming the source seems as if the gcode is sent over as a ‘queue’ of utf-8 encoded strings.

I believe a queue to be an array with special methods, kind of a first in, first out approach.

But you also must receive information over the serial port, like machine current settings and position, or is that all stored in the client?

A spec on how things are done would make developing libraries for other languages much easier.

I can sift through GC source and firmware source, but it will take much longer to understand exactly what is happening rather than having it laid out. Maybe that is what’s necessary though.

Its really not necessary.

But, this is roughly what is happening.

A line of g-code looks like:

A line number, followed by a space, a G or M code, followed by a space, followed by any required parameters, separated by spaces. The line is terminated, if I recall by carriage-return newline (\r\n).

The line number looks line N followed by a span of digits,