Open Source Maslow Solar Collector

I hope this is the right place to post this:

Alright folks. If I’ve learned anything it’s that Maslow users are creative engineer types who generate awesome ideas from nothing! I’m not an engineer and I’m not proficient with 3D software yet (I can do Sketchup really well but am slow at learning Fusion 360). However, that doesn’t stop me from dreaming - I have about a million ideas for Maslow! One of the biggest one is to create an easily assembled solar water collector.

A few years ago a good friend and I built a couple of these collectors for his house: http://www.builditsolar.com/Experimental/PEXColDHW/Overview.htm

They perform really well and were pretty cheap to produce but those two panels were tedious to build! We had to cut all sorts of small pieces, and use a lot of caulk to seal gaps. I’m pretty sure Maslow could cut a more useful panel in a fraction of the time, and it would be with tighter tolerances. I imagine Maslow could print the frame, as well as jigs for making things like the aluminum fins and such.

The other thing it (Maslow) could do is build water storage tanks on the cheap (another thing we had to build), but that’s for another day.

Anyway, this post is more of a call-out to the smart Maslow peeps! Would you be willing to work together and create an open source CNC-based solar collector based on the link above? I’m willing to help in any way I can, but I fully recognize there are far smarter, more talented people on this forum.

Not sure what next steps should be… ideas?

6 Likes

I should note I’ve considered the idea of building jigs for bending aluminum to create the frame. The idea is to create a frame from the same aluminum stock that the fins are made from. It could be riveted together with a simple rivet tool, and the frame could be made rigid by lining the interior with foam board (and maybe a plywood/OSB bottom). Again, I know nothing of how to do this… I just have lots of ideas…