Pros/Cons Of Different Materials

I’m completely new to cnc routing and have been looking into different materials to cut into. My top choices are plywood, mdf, particle board and some really thin backer board.

I was curious what the pros or cons are for each. Plywood can be expensive, can cut jagged and has knots, particle/mdf has fine dust and I heard something about the glue being bad in them.

What is a good material to use that yeilds good results for low material cost?

1 Like

@Jayster

If you haven’t yet have a look at this:

When working with any material you should do your due diligence and look for any hazards that could be presented in their use. Some materials will outgas during the routing process or as you noted form another thread the dust byproduct could pos an issue. Be safe while having fun.

Thank you

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I saw the page you linked to but all the values are blank…

As you use different materials it would be helpful if you share your experiences on that page. I was providing it as a list of materials you could try. @dlang Has said several times if you can rout it by hand you probably can here too. The cost of the bit needed to cut said material can be prohibitive depending on the bit. This includes woods, ceramics, aluminum, plastics, foam and several composite / synthetic materials. One such line is used in the sign industry. Some scrap is easy to come by if you have shops near by. If you offer to take stuff that normally would be a job I find usually the answer is yes. As in “I see you carry that to the dumpster each day, If you want to pile it next to your work area I’ll come by 10 min before you close each day load in my truck so you don’t have move it.”

When I first got my laser cutter I put everything I could find for free in it see if it would etch , burn or melt. It was quite entertaining, and cause several small fires in the laser cutter but that is how you gain experience and skill.