Router bit insertion - Rigid Router

I am a total newbie to all of this, even routers. Just set up everything and was starting calibration. I’m having trouble with the z-axis. I seems as though I can’t raise the collet high enough for the bit to be totally clear of the material. the depth adjuster is as high as it can go. I’ve raise the unit as far up in the case as I can and I have only about a half inch of the bit or less extending out of the collet. There is a part of the bit’s cutting surface up in the collet.

I’m using the sled and bit that are part of the jumpstart kit.

What am I missing?

Thanks!

youdo not want any of the cutting bit inside the collet, it damages the bit and
may not get a good grip.

I am not familiar with the jumpstart kit.

David Lang

How about a picture of the issue? Easier to understand that way.

1 Like

Not the best photographer in the world but here are some photos. I extended the bit so the cutting portion is not in the collet. I wonder if the bit is just too long for this application?

Thanks in advance!

IMG_0266|375x500

Did you just delete the last picture???

If so, I have no idea how I did it. Let me see if one is missing.

1 Like

It looked like the sled hit the screw on the bottom left.

Looks like this one may have been missing.

1 Like

OK, seen something that was not there :grin:

My original bits direct from Maslow are 2" long!

Interesting. The one in the kit is 2.5" with 1" of cut length. That one looks like it is a little over a half inch of cut length.

I see the community store list bits at 2.5 inches. Didn’t realize mine were shorter. Do you have the 2.5 inch one in your router, it looks longer, but maybe I’m used to seeing my short ones?

its 2.5 inches

I have a sled made from a table round, so thicker. I can only use up to 3/8 plywood, guess you fixed my problem, buy longer bits! Hopefully someone else will add ideas for you.