Scaling Image For Cut

This may be a really stupid question because I am probably missing something extremely simple. Where do you scale the images to cut? Is it in makercam or is there somewhere in ground control? Is is it something that needs to be done before any of that?

You should scale the drawing in your CAD program and then produce the gcode from the CAM program. It is possible to change the scale in makercam (selecting items, selecting scale, and entering the scale increase). But I recommend doing it in the CAD program. GC won’t do any scaling… it just reads the gcode and sends it to the arduino controller.

What’s your planned workflow (CAD program and CAM program)?

4 Likes

I’m just going off of 2d images to cut so it should be scaled om the SVG image before I upload to make came right? It would convert whatever size the orginal picture was to the cut in Gcode. I’m really new to all of this but if I used Publisher to create the exact size made that a SVG then convert that should work for me without dealing with any 3D cad programs right?

1 Like

As long as the SVG is “scaled”, you’re going to be good. Just bring it into a CAM program (makercam for instance) and produce the gcode. If, when you load the gcode in GC, you see it too small (or large) on the screen, then you should go back to Publisher to correct the scale.

You shouldn’t need to use any 3D CAD program with the Maslow. You just need to get a scaled SVG and if you can do that in Publisher, you’re good to go. If not, then maybe use a 2D program like inkscape, freecad, visio, etc.

3 Likes

Awesome thanks for your help