Silly Cut Paths and Oval Holes

Hello!

I’m totally new to using a cnc but this has been a super fun learning experience. It hasn’t been without issue though. There a couple problems I haven’t been able to get past.

• Cut a couple holes towards the bottom left corner of a 4x8 sheet, both are oval (taller than they are wide). Other holes in the sheet are pretty much round.

• I have 5 keyhole shaped cuts spaced across the board for draw bolts. They are .10mm deep on a 12mm board. Instead of cutting each keyhole individually, the M2 cuts one pass and moves to the next. When it reaches the last keyhole, it goes back to the first and starts the next pass.

Any insight would be much appreciated!

• Cut a couple holes towards the bottom left corner of a 4x8 sheet, both are oval (taller than they are wide). Other holes in the sheet are pretty much round.

The maslow is a very repeatable machine, but it has many, and very complex
sources of error (there is a forum thread with that name that I started that
explains some of them). The calibration needs work as most of the sources of
error we don’t even try to address yet.

• I have 5 keyhole shaped cuts spaced across the board for draw bolts. They are .10mm deep on a 12mm board. Instead of cutting each keyhole individually, the M2 cuts one pass and moves to the next. When it reaches the last keyhole, it goes back to the first and starts the next pass.

These are easy, that’s a setting in your CAM step (that converts your drawing to
gcode), look for a setting along the lines of ‘depth first’ to have it go all
the way down in one hole before moveing on to the next.

David Lang

Thanks David! I was hoping it would be more accurate. On hole measures 8.12X11.36mm!

I’m using Easel Pro for CAM software. Cant seem to find that setting anywhere, including Google. Do you have another piece of software you would recommend?

Thank you!

Wade

the accuracy issue is not the CAD/CAM (but you can compensate for it there by