Sprocket missed a link... chain fell

Hi guys! 17 y/o here, I have some experience working with the Maslow. Recently I added 1ft of an extension to each side. Somehow today… a chain link stuck up causing the following chain to not drop down, thus causing the chain to ball up on itself. When that happened there was basically space between the chain and the sprocket and it fell because there was no chain for the sprocket to grab on to. (Sorry I can’t do a better job explaining or if that explanation doesn’t make much sense -it all happened really fast)

I think that it could have been the chain angle between the sled and the sprocket, and how this angle is slightly outward. (When it gets to the extreme ends the chain makes a click sound as the sprocket tries to grab it)

I’ll include photos below of the damage as well as where it slipped… I’ll try to get video of it in action soon if that is needed.

If anyone can give any advice or input on how to change my setup that would be amazing! I am also aware that my wording may be ambiguous… so I’d be more than happy to answer any questions/clarify any details!

Edit: The problem was with the left motor, I have used this setup before… it still clicked a little bit it was not that bad. Since last time I cut off an additional 10in of chain making it tighter. I did this because when I got the extension I also needed to buy extra chain. The chain length on each side is Default chain length + 2’8”. My beam is 12ft long but I only work within the default 4x8 workspace.

yes, the chain angle probably caused this.

First, check that the ring height on the sled is correct (with the router near
the normal cutting position, if you hang it by the chains, it should hang with
the sled perpendicular to the ground)

Second, you will want to adjust the top bar position to make it so that the
chains are parallel to the workpiece.

Assuming your ring is at the correct height, you would move your top beam out
from the frame.

David Lang

Hi,