Stream of consciousness from a new user - virgin eyes

I’m starting this thread as a temporary parking spot for my stream of consciousness thoughts and observations in one spot to help flesh out an outline for a future summary document.

Don’t feel the need to answer any specific questions in here, a lot of this is musing to myself to help the developers and contributors get a sense of one new users thought process as they proceed through initial setup. I will post questions on their own in appropriate areas/threads as best I can so they are in a useful spot for the next person, and then summarize in my final document.

BACKGROUND

I purchased one of the last batch of kits from Bar and Hannah. Due to a move and life it has sat unbuilt for about 9 months. I intend to build it in the coming 30 days. I am an inexperienced woodworker <1 year but spending time on it daily and thoroughly enjoying it. I come from a tech (business side) background but have no formal electronics or coding skills.

And now, a train of thought mostly to myself…

FRAMES AND CHAINS

Trying to decide what to do with a frame. The garage has an unusually low ceiling at just over 8’ as it is finished and has living space above it. Also, it lacks wall space due to the previous owner putting in a whole raft of shelves that I can’t remove. Going to have to place the frame on a wall with two windows I want accessible for airflow/dust ventilation.

From reading I know best accuracy on a 4x8 will be achieved with at least a 12’ top beam at an increased height from the main work area. I -think- this would still fit height wise in my garage but haven’t found a conclusive answer.