Arduino left and right motor ports unresponsive

Hi folks,

I’m new to Maslow and just got my kit … and I promptly broke it. ;(

I had the kit all together and had everything working. I used it to cut out my sled, moved my router over, re-calibrated and set it to run on a long project - making a sign. I had it running overnight and in the morning, the right chain was wrapped around the sprocket and nothing was moving.

I unwound eveything and attempted to recalibrate it. During motor/encoder testing, the left and right motors failed, but the z axis motor passed. So, I tested the left and right motors by plugging them into the z axis port and they pass.

So, did I burn out the Arduino? Do I need to get a new shield? Does something need to be “reset”?

Being new, I have the triangular link kit and the latest Arduino code and ground control.

Thanks for your help!

sounds like you burned out the motor controllers for the X-Y motors. Your arduino board should be fine, but you will likely need a new motor controller board.

Hi Keith,

Thanks for the response! Is the motor controller board the Arduino shield?

Thanks,
Randi

1 Like

Sorry about your predicament… I’ve had a similar experience when not paying enough attention to the machine during a cut run. It is to learn… Yes, the motor controller board where the motor cables plug in is probably damaged if the ‘Test Motors/Encoders’ test fails for the left or right motor. The Arduino board is probably still ok though.

Yep, that’s the one.

1 Like

Thanks blurfl!

What do you think is the root cause of the damage? Was it thermal on the board from the long run? Or because the motors didn’t respond?

Would a cooling fan have prevented the damage? Better alignment if the chain or a guard to prevent the chain from wrapping on the motor when unattended?

Thoughts on how to prevent it again?