Buying full kit or parts

I was about to buy a kit with z axis when I noticed that I could buy all the parts with z axis for about $249 (vs $455), am I missing something? I am a broke student every penny counts…

I am only missing two small L brackets for the motors…

2 Likes

Welcome @S_Turner to our group.

No one will fault you if you source the parts your self. This is the meaning of “Open Source”

You are open to use any parts from any where. Question is that the cost of base parts or the parts and shipping? As there are hundreds of parts, shipping on each part would mount up quickly.

Either way I look forward to you engaging in our community.

Thank you

1 Like

Are you getting to that figure by adding all the individual parts in the store rather than the main kit? There are a bunch of fixings and the arduino that would need to be included as well, but i see your point.

1 Like

I did build my Maslow from parts, and it wasn’t because I am a broke student, but I just love the experience with sourcing alternative parts and try to make them work. It work at the end, but took a month longer than I intended. So yes you can save up about 30%, but will cost you time and a lot of effort. One advice - purchase the ring system kit or the pantograph kit because that was the hardest part I had to build, and the ring system is hard to source or make by yourself, I tried lazy Susan bearing, which was fine until saw dust concentrated inside the bearing and make it stuck. Pantograph was easier to make in general, but harder to get it right, and overall I feel like ring system work more effective.

1 Like

if you can afford it, get the full kit, you will be sure that you don’t miss
anything, and you will be supporting the people who are putting this all
together better.

They really should tweak the prices of the individual parts so that it’s not
cheaper to buy everything separately, it’s significantly more work for them to