Fusion Model of the Final Sled

Hello all. I’m new to Fusion and CAM but not CAD or 3D Modeling. I have some questions.

I have uploaded the DXF of the sled into Fusion and noticed that the outer diameter is showing up as 180mm, which is about 7.2 inches. This doesnt look correct. I’m looking for some advice on why this might be.

Also, in general, is it necessary to generate a 3D model of parts in order to get Fusion to generate the G-Code? After I uploaded the DXF, I have a 2D sketch of the sled and not a model. I’m guessing models arent necessary but wanted to ask other users.

Does anyone have a Fusion file of the latest and greatest sled design that works (generates g-code and has been cut) and that I could use as a go-by in order to try to learn Fusion? I’m basicaly looking for a part drawing that I know works and

2 Likes

This sounds like the scale in the DXF is not lining up with the model scale in Fusion. Is this the DXF file from the Community Garden? I think that drawing is in cm instead of mm. Are you using inches or mm in Fusion?

No, you can make a 2D sketch and generate toolpaths from that. You will have to make sure you set your depths right, though, as Fusion won’t be able to use the shape of a profile to determine the cut depth. I have done that for pretty simple parts, and if you don’t have a 2D CAM program to work from then it is a good workaround.

I have the nc file I used to cut my last sled. There are some additional riser parts nested in there with it, but this is a sled file I generated in Fusion 360.

BaselineSled_AllOps.nc (18.9 KB)

3 Likes

MM thaks for the quick response!

You were correct on the scaling issue. Also, I used the INSERT DXF function rather than the UPLOAD to the Data Panel that I had been using. Apparently the Data Panel defaults to CM when uploading a DXF. These two changes fixed the size error.