Getting Started - Training Wheels for Noobs

I’ve been reading the forums, my Kit came today. I will work on putting it all together soon. I’ve been reviewing the steps and I’m finding holes. There is nothing on how to mount the electronics. I can’t see anything telling me how to deal with Z while cutting the final parts. I do have the Z Axis, I wasn’t going to install it until I had the final sled cut.

I’m new to the Maslow - I have several 3D printers, Laser Cutters, & CNC routers. I feel many have short comings for beginners. I’d like to see a section devoted and updated to show current Unboxing to Final Frame steps.

I’d like to see a flow chart on getting the Maslow up, it would need to fork for - I have Z axis & I don’t have Z axis.

Also from the moment I saw the Maslow build instructions I had a pay it forward idea. For me I’d love to start with a Final Sled rather than a temporary. If you are remote and don’t have a way to receive things then it makes perfect sense to have this step. However I would be willing to cut an Extra “Final Sled” and mail it to the next new user that wants to start this way as long as they are willing to do the same. The idea is that users that have a functional unit would cut a final sled and ship it to the next person.

I hope these are seen as constructive input. I recognize there are plenty of people much smarter than me here and I respect the work that has been done.

Thx,
Bee

4 Likes

Great points you raised and the community thrives from Feedback like this. (The wiki also)
One idea of the Maslow was and is, that it would be able to cut itself a frame and a sled.

But at no point you are stuck to it.
I could not wait from ordering till delivery, so build both in advance.
For the sled I used a router with a primitive circular jig, basically a steel rod with a nail pin.
I also opted for a frame with adjustable angle.