How to do multi-tool cuts?

I am VERY new to CNC and Maslow… I have assembled my frame, and I am working on cutting out my “final sled” but I wanted to one-up myself by cutting the sled, and then doubling back with a round off bit. However, I realize now as a noob, this is way more difficult than I had originally anticipated. It is a skill I’d like to learn (if possible) for future projects.

Tools:

The Plan:

Using the 1/4" Up Spiral bit, I will cut the outside profile (of the actual sled), then cut two more inside profile cuts on the outside of the sled, giving me a wide enough channel to set the rounding over bit with bearing down into the channel. Then I would execute a cut using outside profile using a 1.7mm offset from the first outside profile cut. In theory, this will give me a nice rounded off sled without having to get router table, or sand, etc.

The Problem:

Here is where I am having trouble, in general actually. So I took the SVG for the original sled, and load it into MakeCam, export the Gcode for the first set of cuts, and all that goes well. Then I load the SVG a second time and trim out everything but the final rounding bit cut. Export the Gcode.

I open GroundControl, and load the first set of cuts, and run the cuts and all goes well. Once the cuts are done, I hit the home button (the little house) and the bit is drawn up, moves to the home position. I stop the motor, slip the motor out off the sled, switch bits. I do a Z-axis adjustment. Then I load the new Gcode (for the rounding bit). The image is way off the screen. I hit “define home” to bring it back to where I am cutting. Then I hit play. However, it appears that the home may have repositioned, or my math is off, because the rounding bit doens’t line up as expected.

Do I have the order of operations correct?

• Start GroundControl
  • load Gcode (for first cuts)
  • Move sled to preferred starting position
  • Hit “define home”
  • Run the cuts
  • When cuts end click “Home” button